Behavior OnLine Forums  
The gathering place for Mental Health and
Applied Behavior Science Professionals.

Become a charter member of Behavior OnLine.

Go Back   Behavior OnLine Forums > >

Notices

Old June 7th, 2006, 05:00 PM

Default severe behavior problems in 6 year old

I am dealing with a 6 year old boy who has some very serious behavior problems. He has been diagnosed with Autism and ADHD. He takes Ritalin every three hours durning the day and Valproic Acid 3 times a day. I have been babysitting him 5 days a week for 6 months.

When he first started coming to my home he would spend the majority of his day either sleeping or screaming. Although he made hourly trips to the restroom, he would wet himself frequently. Within the first couple weeks of watching him the wetting disappeared completely, and the screaming only happened a couple times a week. The parents however, are still having frequent problems at home, and at kindergarden he is out of control the majority of the time.

I am concerned with several different issues. First of all is the violent thoughts this child has on a regular basis. It is common for him to be sitting quietly and out of the blue make statments like "I am going to get a knife and stab someone in the back of the head" or "guns and knives can be used to kill people". He is not exposed to violent games or allowed to watch any type of violence on TV. These statements become worse when he is in a time out, and are usually directed at the caregiver. They vary in content from day to day, but always have a violent theme.